Reality Bytes:One Year Later

I know this post is long overdue but we have been so busy the last few weeks between our Seattle trip, Holibirthday celebration with mom; not to mention Varun’s annual day and of course work; that I didn’t get time to collect my thoughts.

In fact the Seattle trip and the trip to Lonavla played a big role in my thinking. When we came back from Seattle, I missed everyone so much. Even Varun missed Vivaash and kept asking “Where is Vivaash, mama?” I also met a friend who recently moved to Redmond and simply loving it there.

On such days I dearly wish I was in Redmond.

And then there are days such as last weekend where we all made an impromptu trip home to celebrate my mom’s milestone birthday. The entire family was in town and we had fun. Last minute, no pre-planning, no scheduling. Just hopped on the train that we booked that afternoon and were with family the next.

How on earth would such a thing be even possible in US?

This pretty much sums up our one year here.

Weather, driving, traffic, dust, heat, pollution – we have got used to it. Work -regardless of how or how little it is, we have to deal with it – late night meetings, long work hours etc.  Maids, cooks, drivers ;when they come;  are a great help -so you can focus on life. On a good day its like an icing on top. On a bad day, we lament over moving to India.

But family, oh dear family, what can we do without you? And friends, my dear friends, how I miss you so!

About rutujak

A travel addict, self confessed foodie and a mom trying to make SFO my home after a decade in Seattle and a stint in Hyderabad, India.

Posted on April 2, 2013, in India Relocation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

