Date Truffles

Date Truffles formed

Today, at work, Shipra, told me  to try making truffles with fresh dates. They are easy to make and kids eat them thinking they are chocolate. They are healthy, easy to make and all natural.

Mixed date and chocolate paste

Only problem – I have never bought dates before. Call me crazy but I think they look like cockroaches! And I am scared of cockroaches. I may put on a brave front and be all cool and grown up about it if you are not family. But when no one is looking I scream, jump on the nearest couch or chair or even table and scream some more. They go about minding their own business and finally someone in the family turns up and takes care of the cockroach.

Coating in chocolate

Eew, food and pests in same sentence don’t exactly sound appetizing. I hope I have not thrown you off already, bear with me…its gets better. I promise.

On the way home, we picked up some dates. Tunisian ones to be precise. Varun helped me pit them at home. Combined with cocoa powder, they tasted just like chocolate. This is a recipe where quality ingredients shine as there is nothing else to this than cocoa and dates. Roll the date-chocolate paste around nuts ( roasted almond, raisins or even pistachios) or filling ( caramel, coffee or custard) for a hidden surprise. I didn’t do any of that and they were still a hit.

Varun had a couple after dinner. And smiled and announced “chocolate”. Victory! I will have to ration them else he will eat them all at once!

Date Truffles

Date Truffles Recipe

  •  1 cup Arabic dates pitted
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon butter or oil in a small bowl
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder or coconut flakes for coating (optional)

1. Whirl the dates and cocoa powder till they are coarsely mixed in a blender.
2. Dump the mix into a large plate. Oil your palms and form truffle balls.
3. Coat the truffles in cocoa powder or in coconut flakes.

Store in an air tight container in a cool and dry place. Enjoy!

About rutujak

A travel addict, self confessed foodie and a mom trying to make SFO my home after a decade in Seattle and a stint in Hyderabad, India.

Posted on February 15, 2013, in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

