Rosella Tea and Ginger Cupcakes

Ready to eat

I know what you are saying – cupcakes? After yesterday’s post on healthy snacking? I get the irony.

Why am I doing this to you? In my defense, I ran out of green tea and reached in my tea stash for something else – vanilla chai tea, lemongrass tea, ginger-mint tea, Rosella tea…Wait a minute, I had completely forgotten about this packet of tea from Bali! It would be a perfect with some honey. So off I went to the pantry to get some hot water and sugar as there is no honey in office.

Lovely colour of rosella tea

As the tea steeped, I was charmed by its lovely red hue. The fruity flavor and the red color of the Rosella buds had me at first sip. Immediately I thought this would be perfect in a cake. A fruity pinkish-red cupcake. Weight consciousness be damned!

Tea soaking

I found a few chai-tea recipes (here and here) and earl grey recipes (here and here) but none with Rosella tea. I figured I could conjure one of my own based on these. Steeped tea, few spices to complement the fruity tea, flour, butter and eggs and we should be good to go. I wrote down the recipe that I think would work and tried this at home, making notes where I tweaked it real-time.

Ready to bake

To my amazement, it turned out  to be perfect! Light, delicate crumb, hints of warming spices and flecks of tea and Rosella buds.Except for the red color. They didn’t turn even the palest pink. Other than the vanilla cake like color, I am over the top with the taste and the texture.This is going to be my go to recipe 🙂 Oh, and the house smells heavenly while they are baking.

Ready to eat cupcake

Single cupcake

Rosella cupcakes

Tempting

Replace with any other tea you have on hand. Don’t like cinnamon and nutmeg? Replace with all spice or cardamom or even lavender. Make the recipe your own and bake them for the Office Christmas party or for school bake sale. Sophisticated enough for adults yet light and fruity for kids. They beg to be made and savored with some hot tea (or coffee).

Vipul was upset when I started making these and I decided that I will take them to work so we won’t eat the entire batch. But one bite, he begged me not to take them to work. And we are almost done with the entire batch. I promise, you wont be able to stop at one!

Rosella Tea and Ginger Cupcake Recipe:

  • 1/2 cup water + 4 bags Rosella tea
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg each
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger (fresh grated)
  • 1/2 cup butter at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup yogurt at room temperature

1. Preheat the oven to 175 C ( 350 F). Line the cupcake pan.

2. Heat water in a microwave for about 30- 40 seconds and let the tea bags steep in the hot water.

3. Sift and measure all the dry ingredients in a bowl ( flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg). Add ginger and mix well.

4. Cream sugar in butter in another blow till light and fluffy and then add eggs one at a time. Add vanilla and yogurt and mix well.

5. Add the sugar-eggs-butter mixture to the dry ingredients. Mix well ( or on medium speed of a stand mixer for couple of minutes).

6. Fill the cupcakes till they are 3/4 th full. Bake for 21 minutes.

Let cool before biting into one.

About rutujak

A travel addict, self confessed foodie and a mom trying to make SFO my home after a decade in Seattle and a stint in Hyderabad, India.

Posted on December 19, 2012, in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

