South Indian Silk Sari Shopping

Close up of typical saris with the mango motif

My dear friend Poonam is visiting India in January and asked me if I could check out some south Indian silk saris that are wearable in US for her. A bit contemporary with traditional weaves – not as heavy or ornate as a typical kanjeevaram or a banarasi silk. I love shopping and I was all up for sari shopping! My plan was to visit a few stores, take photos of the saris and share them with her so she could shortlist the ones she liked the most.

Interestingly on our flight to Port Blair, on our recent trip to Andaman islands, the in-flight Jet issue was on East coast and the traditional weaves of East coast of India – Uppada, Pochampally, Ghadwal, Bomkai, Jamdani etc. After the trip, I planned to check out a few places for Andhra weaves even though I don’t wear saris. I love to look at them – the sheen, the soft fabric, the intricate design fascinate me.

I asked friends around for best places to shop for saris and send some of the online store information to Poonam. I wanted to see some in person and I headed to Chandana Brothers in Madhapur. The store stocks traditional south Indian saris.

Showing saris

I told them that I want to check out a few saris for my friend and take photos of them so she can decide which ones she likes. They were happy to oblige. Most saris pictured here are in INR 3000 – 5000 range other than the ones with more work which are upto INR 8000.

Uppada silk

Another gold and blue beauty with floral motif

Traditional silk with wide border

Rich pallu

Pochampally silk

Ghadwal silk

The rich colors, the beautiful designs and the soft silk reminded me of wedding shopping, gossiping with aunts, asking them to drape the sari on you to see how the color suits you while asking endless refills of filter coffee.

Anyways, I don’t think these will pass the bill -Vipul wasn’t too thrilled about them either. They seemed too traditional in both color and pattern. Not a great start, we continue shopping. I plan on going to Kalanjali, Nalli Silk, Kanchi Silk House, Rangoli and Neerus. Where do you gals shop for silk saris? Do drop a comment below!

About rutujak

A travel addict, self confessed foodie and a mom trying to make SFO my home after a decade in Seattle and a stint in Hyderabad, India.

Posted on December 10, 2012, in Life in India and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

