Trans’Planting

We are in our 4th month of Indian Adventure. The move has been a great exercise in uprooting our lives in USA and transplanting it in India. For now we have unpacked and settled into a new home, but the garden remained behind. Those spring blooming daffodils and tulips, followed by azaleas, early summer hydrangeas, mid summer blue berries (and Varun chomping on them) and blazing nandina, weepling maple and Kastura in the fall, in my memory, will never fade.

A home, I believe, is incomplete without its garden.Even a small plant, be it succulent , herb or creeper, adds life to the home. A little bit of greenery calms the home. It’s no wonder that every home design magazine, blog or website has a section on gardening and include greenery to add depth to their staged home photos.

While I don’t have a yard here, I have four large sunny balconies where I dream of growing tomatoes, peppers, spinach, mint, coriander  and lettuce – once I figure out a place to get seeds. Till then I am making do with two potted plants by the front door.They welcome anyone visiting our home in a Tara Dillard way.

I got these 2 plants from a road side nursery across from Shilparamam in Hyderabad. The nursery is a sharp contrast to nurseries that I have been used to – Molbaks , Gray Barn and Flower World with acres and acres of plants sorted by sun requirements, ornamental v/s edibles, trees v/s shrubs v/s creepers etc.

This is tiny nursery stocking sun-loving plants (out in open) and shade loving plants (under the tarp). They don’t sell any seeds or vegetable or fruit plants. I walked around the nursery with Varun and my mom , selected a couple of plants and asked them to pot it up for me. Varun loved running amongst the neatly arranged rows of plants, tried to feel different leaves textures ( sensory development anyone?) and tried to pluck the flowering daisies when I had to distract him and show the pots to him.

That didn’t work as he was immediately attracted to thorny cacti like plants and then moved on to playing in the mud by the entrance. It was time to warp up the nursery trip and head home before Varun was covered in the red mud. Anyways, it began to lightly drizzle as well so we would have headed home anyways.

While plant shopping, make sure you ask for price as you see the plants. Most small plants were Rs. 100 -150 and larger ones were Rs. 200- 250.I should have bargained but  was a bit carried away just being in a nursery. Having mom around helped as she spoke to the nursery owner in Telugu which saved me from paying NRI prices.

Anyways, Rs 700 later (or roughly more than $12), we walked out with 2 plants, 2 pots with matching drip trays, potted up in red soil. This nursery was a bit pricier than what I would have paid somewhere else in the city/outside city per my driver. Oh well, we live and learn.

For now, I have 2 plants by our door swaying cheerfully in the light monsoon breeze. Hope they stay cheerful and don’t die in my care!

About rutujak

A travel addict, self confessed foodie and a mom trying to make SFO my home after a decade in Seattle and a stint in Hyderabad, India.

Posted on July 5, 2012, in Garden, Life in India and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi,

    I’m new to hyderabad, and looking to buy some seeds and organic fertilizers near kukatpally area.. Came across this blog through google. Have you found some shops to buy seeds and garden equipments. Can you please comment… I’m looking for some veggie seeds…

    • Unfortunately I have not. I bought some palak seeds from Lonavla, near Mumbai. Most folks plant tomatoes, chillies, brinjals, by drying a non hybrid ones and then separating the seedlings. You will be able to find mint at any nursery. Corriander and Methi can be grown from seeds that you buys from grocery stores. For fertilizers, my mom uses a mixture of tea water, egg shells broken down and cow manure. There are a few cow sheds in Kondapur area ( am sure you will find one in Kukatpally as well and they can provide manure for you. Hope this helps! Try Lamakaan – its not in Kukatpally but they have organic produce and they maybe able to guide you 🙂

Leave a Reply

