Happy Mothers Day

Today is Mothers day , my first one, a day to honor mothers and motherhood.

This post is to honor two moms in my life. Without either of them the last few months would have been terrible. They both took an extended sabbatical to be here and to help us out and be with their grand child.

In some sense it is ‘expected’ of Indian parents – they provide for their child as long as they can. And I am truly grateful for that.

I can leave Varun behind without hesitation knowing he will be loved and taken care of, probably better than I could possibly have.
I come home to a happy child, steaming hot tea, and fresh dinner everyday for the past 9 months thanks to my moms who have parked themselves in the center of our lives.

We have had our share of fights  and disagreements but we can reconcile knowing that we are truly not complete without each other.

I particularly rememeber a night when Varun didnt sleep at all – he would sleep in our arms when rocked, but kept waking up everytime we set him down. In that exhuasted state I called my mom in India and fought with her that she had spoilt Varun by rocking him to sleep while she was here and now we are paying its price. Not my proud moment – and something I apologized for the next day.

As I think about what kind of mom I want to be, I only hope that I will be able to give as a mom that I have received as a daughter.

About rutujak

A travel addict, self confessed foodie and a mom trying to make SFO my home after a decade in Seattle and a stint in Hyderabad, India.

Posted on May 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very touching and true. I have had many fights with my mom and I find it even more difficult to say sorry. I am glad you sorted things out with your mom. I am in the process of doing it. Thanks for the post 🙂

Leave a Reply

