Hello Spring!

When I was in middle school, we had a lesson on Japan’s Cherry Blossom Festival. From what I remember, it was  all about how Japanese enjoy the sakura- pink cherry blossoms and the festivities that are enjoyed in spring time when the flowers bloom. My mom, middle school teacher then, taught this to several batches of students. She brought the chapter to life- I could almost feel the spring arrive as the breeze wafted through the light pink petals. Even though spring was something that I had not encountered in Mumbai.

When I first moved to US, I was excited about seeing the cherry blossom in DC.It was one thing that my mom always asked me about- but somehow I never got around actually seeing the blooms on the Tidal Basin banks.

So today, when the weather was perfect for a normally rainy Seattle, we headed out to University district. The Quad was in bloom. The all-pink trees against the UW architecture. The place was buzzing with families and kids.Oh those precious smiles amidst the lovely blooms! A perfect way to welcome Spring!

It was probably at its peak this weekend, but you should still be able to enjoy it next weekend if the rain gods oblige.

About rutujak

A travel addict, self confessed foodie and a mom trying to make SFO my home after a decade in Seattle and a stint in Hyderabad, India.

Posted on April 10, 2011, in Around Seattle, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

